The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) Standards

The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) is a consortium of state education agencies and national educational organizations dedicated to the reform of the preparation, licensing, and on-going professional development of teachers. Created in 1987, INTASC's primary constituency is state education agencies responsible for teacher licensing, program approval, and professional development. Its work is guided by one basic premise: An effective teacher must be able to integrate content knowledge with the specific strengths and needs of students to assure that all students learn and perform at high levels.

Council of Chief State School Officers
One Massachusetts Avenue, NW - Suite 700
Washington, DC 20001-1431
voice: 202.336.7000 - fax: 202.408.8072

Standard 1 - Knowledge of Subject Matter: The candidate understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structure of the discipline he or she teachers and can create learning experiences that make these aspects of subject matter meaningful to students.

Standard 2 - Knowledge of Human Development and Learning: The candidate understands how children learn and develop, and can provide learning opportunities that support their intellectual, social, and personal development.

Standard 3 - Instructional Strategies for Diverse Learners: The candidate understands how students differ in their approaches to learning and creates instructional opportunities that are adapted to diverse learners.

Standard 4 - Multiple Instructional Strategies: The candidate understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage students' development of critical thinking, problem solving, and performance skills.

Standard 5 - Motivation and Management: The candidate encourages an understanding of individual and group motivation and behavior to create a learning environment that encourages positive social interactions, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.

Standard 6 - Communication and Technology: The candidate uses knowledge of effective verbal, non-verbal, and media communication techniques to foster active inquiry, collaboration, and supportive interaction in the classroom.

Standard 7 - Instructional Planning: The candidate plans instruction based on knowledge of subject matter, students, the community, and curriculum goals.

Standard 8 - Assessment of Learning: The candidate understands and uses formal and informal assessment strategies to evaluate and ensure the continuous intellectual, social, and physical development of the learner.

Standard 9 - Professional Development: The candidate is a reflective practitioner who continually evaluates the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (students, parents, and other professionals) and who actively seeks out opportunities to grow professionally.

Standard 10 - School/Community Involvement: The candidate fosters relationships with school colleagues, parents, and agencies in the larger community to support students' learning and well being.



TLQP Program Standards

Standards for Teacher Educators

National Board Certified Teacher Standards (NBCTS)

The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) Standards

International Society for Technology in Education National Education Technology Standards